Wardrobe Wednesday

Posted on

As you may know I recently was given a LOT of fabric and I have been sewing madly. I made this dress which I love. Perfect for spring/summer, very comfortable, and (most importantly for Amsterdam) able to be biked in.

The navy fabric I bought in Paris. It was only €10 for about 3 metres. You can’t really tell from the photo, but it’s lined with jersey cotton in a purple/lilac colour (from the freebie sacks). The lining was necessary as the navy was very sheer and it has the added bonus of giving the colour a real lift, and making it very comfortable and easy to wear.

Joining in here with other well dressed ladies who are getting ready for winter!

Wardrobe Wednesday at SailorSpy.co.nz

6 responses »

  1. Ahh – I’m pining for the weather that lets you wear a simple Maxi. Love the belt with it too x

    Reply
  2. Looks great. Love the print on the fabric and I’m all for biking in a dress

    Reply
  3. I love it-getting ready for winter in summer 🙂 Or is it winter?! (hard to tell here right now in Amsterdam). I do have one question, how do you ride in a full length skirt?! I am currently trying to scrub out the bike grease from getting my full length skirt caught in my back brakes-it’s happened twice now so no more riding in long skirts for me!

    Reply
    • The key is stretch fabric that isn’t too full around the ankles in my experience. Otherwise hitch it high, tuck it into your undies and ride shamelessly! In terms of the grease: try a mix baking soda and white vinegar 😉

      Reply

I love it when people comment so please share your thoughts. I'll reply here.

