Heading Home

Posted on

I thought it was about time for another songwriting post.

This song we actually wrote and recorded in February to commemorate the year anniversary of the 2011 Christchurch Earthquake and especially the loss of a friend. I didn’t share it here as I didn’t have this blog at the time, but it seems appropriate that I do now.

We have been living in Holland for a little under ten months and it’s not possible to stay here with the immigration laws the way they are. Consequently we have decided to return to Christchurch and will arrive back there in September – a little under a year after we left. We hope in some way to be able to contribute to the rebuild of the city.

So it’s a time for memories – both happy and sad. And for dreams and new plans. I hope this is somewhat encapsulated in this song.

Joining in here

I share my creative space on Village Voices

6 responses »

  1. Thats a shame things havent turned out the way you wanted. That’s a beautiful song you’ve written. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply
  2. Dear Alex dear Naomi, that is a very beautiful song!
    Thanx.
    X
    Inge

    Reply
  3. Just beautiful Naomi, I could feel those lyrics coming from your heart. I too will be flying into Christchurch on August 29th to visit family and spend time travelling around. I love NZ it is my homeland also. May it welcome you back with open arms.

    Reply
    • Thanks Sandra. Enjoy your time in Christchurch. Let me know if you want to meet up with any bloggers while you are there as my sister is very well connected in that scene.

      Reply

I love it when people comment so please share your thoughts. I'll reply here.

